Tip the scales of power

one little action at a time.

I don’t even know where to fucking start with this one.

I *did* mention that there would be more cussing on this incarnation of my blog, right? Good No further warning required then.

I’m trying very hard to reconcile some of the very good things going on my my own personal world with the very, very bad things going on in the world at large. It’s not easy to do.

My mom and brother and housemate/friend from way back were out eating dinner the night the news broke in Paris. We didn’t even know about the other nastiness in Beirut, Lebanon, Japan and I think also Mexico? Did I miss anyone? I probably did, bad as it all was. Friday the 13th was a real nightmare for a lot of people. It was kind of surreal to be seeing the numbers ticking up as I was trying to keep down a pretty decent dinner of Mex-American whatever it was. I don’t even remember. I just kept thinking how weird it was to be out eating while all of that was going on. Most people didn’t even seem to notice the news. I couldn’t stop watching.

And then it broke all over social media, which is the last place anyone should look for sincere sympathy or humane reactions. Don’t even go there if you haven’t yet. It’s not worth it.

I’m trying to focus on the part of the world I can actually expect to influence. Keyboard activism only goes so far. I signed up and got onto the schedule to drive for W.A.R.M. this winter. I’m waiting for the next round of food collection for Snack Pack so I can try to round up some more help. I don’t know if the blood donation information has helped anyone out or not, but it was absolutely worth putting out there anyway. These are the things I can actually do. This is the difference I can make here and now. It makes me wonder what would happen if people did just a few more things. Do you have any idea how many people I recognize from one volunteer site to another? Do you know how much more we could get done if more new faces showed up to help? Seriously, do you have any idea how much power we aren’t using? Power, yes that’s right. The ability to influence the thoughts and actions of others- real, human power. We’ve got so much that we aren’t using.

Maybe, just maybe, it would help to offset the hurtful human power that is being used.

In other news, I got a new goat shelter put up and the windows finally in place on the cabin. It’s astonishing how much of a difference a few sheets of plexiglass can make.

2 thoughts on “Tip the scales of power

  1. Social media? How about the news itself? There is a mess in the Middle-East that has caused a mass exodus of refugees, but some people didn’t realize how bad it was until Paris got hit? Now many States do not want to take in any refugees now because terrorists might sneak in with them? So much for Christian charity or this being the home of the brave. Yes, this is the home of the brave… there just isn’t very many of them. It isn’t very polite of me to start a rant on someone else’s blog, but I want you to know you are not alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

