An excess of goats.

EDIT TO ADD THAT THE GOATS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THANKS.

 

A friend of the family recently (as in, yesterday) had what I will only refer to as a personal emergency and has had to find other homes for his remaining goats. I now have two new does (one of which is a very pretty veteran La Mancha who I will definitely be keeping) one wether (which is going in my freezer) and TWO Oberhasli bucks.

I now have four bucks giving each other the stink-eye across the little buck pen. That is two too many.

Neither of these big boys are registered, unfortunately, but I’ve known them for a bit and they have always been healthy to my knowledge. They’ve both sired very handsome babies in the past. I’ll get pictures up as soon as I can.

The older of the two (I can’t remember if they are 4 and 5 or 5 and 6…)  is a beast of a buck. I’d guess his weight right around 200 lbs. He’s biddable (only needed one person to lead him, was polite during morning feeding, had no interest in fighting with Grinder for the top spot in the field), has been de-horned, and took to the last minute transfer with relative calm. We’ve nicknamed him Moose on account of his size; he’s eyeball-to-eyeball with the Highland Cattle next door. He is probably too old and set in his ways to train for packing but he sires big healthy kids and I would recommend him to improve on the size of a packing/hauling herd. I wouldn’t put him with a first-timer doe, because of the size of the kids he has thrown in the past. I’d like to get $100 to $150 for him because he does have some good breeding years left. I want to see him find a home. He’s a pretty good guy, just huge.

The younger of the two we have nicknamed McNasty and I’m only going to sell him to someone who can handle a difficult buck. Or for stew. (The first thing he did was pick a fight with Grinder- which Grinder won.) He has beautiful coloring and conformation, is only about 170 lbs (only!) and still has his horns. I don’t want to sound too negative and lose a sale but I’m more concerned with not misleading anyone or setting anyone up to get hurt. If you want a very handsome Oberhasli to add to your herd’s genetic diversity then by all means, let him. He IS pretty, and has always been healthy, but I would not recommend him for training of any kind. He would probably make excellent predator deterrent. If you want a large stew goat that’s fine too. $50 and he’s yours, that price will go up if you want me to deliver him. Hazard pay.

Health-wise there is nothing wrong with either of them that I know of. His herd tested clean before and have had no new exposures that I know of since the last test. The biggest problem is that they are not Kikos and do not have a Kiko’s relatively tiny calorie requirements. I can not keep them through the winter on a hay supply that was put up with Kikos in mind.

Please share this post if you think anyone in your social circle might be interested in a goat or two from Maryland.

5 thoughts on “An excess of goats.

  1. Glad to hear they found homes, even if the one ends up in freezer camp real quick like. Way too far away to have taken them and we still lack a perimeter fence (or a walkable perimeter for that matter, forest to homestead is quite the workload). The best of luck to your friend.

    Like

    • We’ll actually be keeping Moose ourselves… McNasty is in my freezer as we speak. He cornered and killed the beautiful young Kiko that I went to Tennessee to get. Moose is not the beta buck I wanted, but I could do worse. I’m still in a bit of shock over the loss of my favorite little goat. Lightfoot was my buddy. McNasty is now sausage.

      Like

      • I am sorry to hear of the loss of Lightfoot, unfortunately such occasional (one hopes) tragedy is a part of farm life but that doesn’t make it any easier to handle when it happens. May your remaining animals be well protected, healthy and fertile for those you wish to breed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

