More goat news

So the time has come to tell you what happened. It’s NOT a pleasant story.

The emergency re-home bucks are no longer available. One is in my freezer as just over 30 pounds of sausage. One is staying to be my beta buck until I can find another young Kiko to replace the young Tennessee buck that McNasty killed. There’s a reason I was unwilling to sell him, although I never figured him for a killer.

Violence and bucks are tandem harnessed to one another. They fight for rank, they fight for does. They rarely, so very rarely, fight to the death. It is unusual in the extreme.

When I left that morning, all the boys were calmly eating hay near one another, all arguments having apparently been settled with a few hard knocks. This was normal. When I returned not six hours later, my wonderful little Kiko yearling had been obviously chased madly about the field, pinned in the bottom of the gully, and strangled with his collar. (I put blaze orange on them to give some measure of protection from over-zealous hunters.) I still don’t know why the collar didn’t break like it was supposed to under that kind of stress. My big Kiko kept calling and calling, sniffing around the field and all around the little guy’s favorite spots. He was looking for his buddy. It about broke my heart.

If I had been able to get hold of McNasty I would have killed him then and there, there is no doubt he was responsible. Grinder was used to the little guy and Moose doesn’t have the horns to have hooked the little guy’s collar.

For better or ill, I couldn’t catch McNasty, so we got a small crew together the next day and shot his sorry ass. I will not keep a killer buck, nor can I in good conscience sell one. McNasty is now sausage. Moose will be staying for at least one breeding season. He’s NOT the second Kiko that I wanted, but I could do worse than a big-boned, very healthy Oberhasli. At least Moose will let you lead him around and brush him.

Who knows, maybe a few half-Oberhaslis will prove to be a benefit to the herd as a whole. They’re much larger than the Kikos even though, being a dairy breed, they don’t pack on as much muscle. It wouldn’t be a terrible thing to have some milking goats available, either. I keep reminding myself that I’ve never planned to keep a single-breed herd, and that certain characteristics are more important than bloodlines. Moose is healthy, hardy, and big. I could do worse. His coat is in terrible condition, but some real grass hay and a copper bolus should fix that right up.

I’m just pissed the fuck off that my little guy died, especially the way he did. It was NOT what I wanted for him.

*deep breath*

There is also a minor situation in the doe field. Nowhere near as bad, thank the gods.  Basically, I have an extra doe. She’s tiny and adorable and I have absolutely no place for her, even though she’s quite pleasant. She’s a Pygmy, and has no place in a commercial meat herd. I would love to see her go be a companion for another animal (goats CAN NOT live alone. They will pine and starve themselves.) or to someone looking for smaller, easier to handle goats who already has at least one. We think she is around 4 years old, and there is the distinct possibility that she is pregnant.  My first impression of her was that she was kind of flighty, but she’s settling in reasonably well. It may be that she isn’t liking transitions much because she is pregnant- that would not be at all unusual. I’d like to get about $50 for her because while she is a pretty little girl, I’m not completely sure of her age or her potentially gravid status. Again, I’m in Maryland but could meet someone  halfway if any of my readers know of a potential home for her. In this picture, she is standing next to a standard size 50lb mineral block… for a sense of scale.

2 thoughts on “More goat news

Leave a Reply

